My life as a single mompreneur

I’d like to send a special thank you out to the mad genius, Todd Lange, of Running Mate Media http://runningmatemedia.com/! I just completed Week 8/Day 1 of my 5K101 training. For the first time in my life I jogged 30 minutes without stopping. A few hours later… I’m a bit sore and feeling somewhat sleepy, but I guess that’s to be expected. What I didn’t expect were tears. I can thank Todd for those tears. His genius appears throughout the training, but for me mostly in his week 8 program.

I am an admitted softie so tears are common. Week 8’s podcast promised a surprise, and my it was worth the wait! I won’t spoil it for anyone reading that might  not be there yet, but the experience brought tears to my eyes. It conjured up a bunch of feelings about how far I had come in the last 7 weeks and it distracted me from my fear of the 30 minute interval.

Prior to today I had only jogged 12 minute intervals. I got going and settled in for the longer run. During the program I heard the term Negative Return – for me that meant that I’d gone too far to stop or turn back. The battle I wage is within me. My body is responding to the program (with a few aches here and there) so why should I doubt  that I will achieve my goal? I guess because I’m human.

In this approaching 5K and in my life, I’d be wise to invest my energy into believing I can instead of finding reasons to doubt myself.

I’m at my point of negative return.

Comments on: "Negative Return – 6 Days & Counting" (2)

  1. I’m proud of you! I have no doubt that you will conquer this with flying colors. After all, ain’t no mountain high for you baby! I’ll be routing for you this weekend!! I miss you all. Tell the girls hi for me. See you soon!

Leave a comment